be used on legal applications, such as contracts or documents used in court proceedings.

Treasury Board has central responsibility for the program and the policy, which is issued as part of the administrative policy manual. Each organization is responsible for implementing the policy.

19.6 Provincial and territorial governments

The former BNA Act provided for the federal union of three British North American provinces - Canada (Ontario and Quebec), Nova Scotia and New Brunswick - into one dominion under the name Canada. The act made provision for possible future entry into Confederation of the colonies or provinces of Newfoundland, Prince Edward Island and British Columbia, and of Rupert's Land and the North-Western Territory. a vast expanse then held by the Hudson's Bay Company. In 1870, the company surrendered its territories to the British Crown which transferred them to Canada. In exchange it received a cash payment from the Canadian government of \$300,000, one-twentieth of the lands in the southern part, "the fertile belt", of the territory, and designated blocks of land around its trading posts. From this new territory was carved Manitoba in 1870, much smaller at its inception than now, and later, in 1905, Saskatchewan and Alberta, British Columbia entered Confederation in 1871 on condition that a railway linking it with Eastern Canada be commenced within two years. In 1873 Prince Edward Island entered the union and in 1949 Newfoundland joined.

19.6.1 Provincial governments

In each of the provinces, the Queen is represented by a lieutenant-governor appointed by the Governor General-in-Council. The lieutenantgovernor acts on the advice and with the assistance of his ministry or an executive council which is responsible to the legislature and resigns office under circumstances similar to those described concerning the federal government.

The legislature of each province is unicameral, consisting of the lieutenant-governor and a legislative assembly. The assembly is elected by the people for a statutory term of five years but may be dissolved within that period by the lieutenant-governor on the advice of the premier of the province.

Sections 92, 93 and 95 of the Constitution Act, 1867 (Br. Stat. 1867, c.3 and amendments) assign legislative authority in certain areas to the provincial governments.

Details regarding qualifications and disqualifications of the franchise are contained in the elections act of each province. In general, every person at a specified age who is a Canadian citizen or (in certain provinces) other British subject, who complies with certain residence requirements in the province and the electoral district of polling and who falls under no statutory disqualifications, is entitled to vote. Persons can vote in Newfoundland, Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Quebec, Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta at age 18, and in British Columbia, Northwest Territories and Yukon at age 19.

Executive councils of the provinces and the commissioner and legislative assembly of Yukon and Northwest Territories are given in Appendix C.

Newfoundland. The government of Newfoundland has a lieutenant-governor, an executive council and a house of assembly made up of 52 members. On September 5, 1986, the Honourable James A. McGrath, PC became the lieutenant-governor. The 40th legislature in the history of Newfoundland and the twelfth since Confederation, elected April 2, 1985, comprised 36 Progressive Conservatives, 15 Liberals and one New Democrat; as of November 1986, party standings had not changed.

Prince Edward Island. The government of Prince Edward Island consists of a lieutenant-governor, an executive council and a legislative assembly. The Honourable Lloyd G. MacPhail was sworn in as lieutenant-governor on August 1, 1985. The legislative assembly has 32 members from 16 electoral districts. Each district elects two representatives. The 57th general assembly elected April 21, 1986 consisted of 21 Liberals and 11 Progressive Conservatives; party standings had not changed as at November 30, 1986.

Nova Scotia. The government of Nova Scotia consists of a lieutenant-governor, acting with the advice of the executive council of the province and the legislature, known as the house of assembly, which has 52 members. The Honourable Alan R. Abraham, CD, was lieutenant-governor as of January 31, 1984. A general election took place on November 6, 1984, when 42 Progressive Conservatives, six Liberals, three New Democrats and one Independent were elected.

New Brunswick. The government of New Brunswick has a lieutenant-governor, an executive council and a legislative assembly. The Honourable George F.G. Stanley was sworn in on January 27, 1982, as lieutenant-governor. The